About me

My life, my running and my coaching credentials.

Personal Information

I was born in Edinburgh, Scotland and moved to England then Canada at eleven and again to the United States for University. As a result I have two citizenships (British and Canadian) and a green card to live and work in the US.

After graduating from the University of Wisconsin in 1997 with a degree in Exercise Physiology and Biology (Dean's list and Academic All-American) I was a volunteer assistant coach at both the University of Wisconsin and Stanford University. I enjoyed working with the cross country and track teams at both universities and it was a great compliment to my own running career.

In 2005 I moved to Nederland, Colorado to live in the mountains and train at altitude. It is a great place to live and train and has a nice running community that is both a part of and separate from the better known Boulder just down the hill.

When I was coaching the high school track and cross country teams in Nederland it allowed me to get more involved with the community and continue working on my coaching skills. We won 12 state individual and team championships.

In 1994 I was diagnosed with Graves' disease which is an autoimmune disease that kept me out of running for a couple of months but is in remission now.

I have now transitioned completely from professional athlete to coach and love the rewards and challenges of coaching.

Coaching with the Boulder Track Club Development Team is gratifying, as these athletes are highly competitive while all having full-time jobs or being students.

Teaching coaching education through USATF allows me to share my passion for coaching while meeting coaches from all over the United States. I am a USATF Level 3 certified coach and USATF Coaching Education instructor, bringing a wealth of knowledge to coaching every athlete I coach whether it's a first time marathoner or my elite athletes competing at Major Championships.